• Go to Home Page
  • Go to Staff Login
Catalogue Search:          Advanced Search

 

UBC Databases by Subject

Selected UBC Databases by Subject

The following are a few suggestions for databases and online reference tools through the UBC Library Indexes and Databases. Included here are several databases at the Allison Library which can only be accessed in the library.  There may be others of use to your topic as well.  The topics listed are rather broad as it is often useful to think broadly when conducting a search.

Look under the Subject Guides on the UBC Library site (often under Arts and Humanities) for further resources in a subject area. NOTE: ATLA Religion Database is offered both at Allison and UBC libraries. The advantage of searching ATLA via UBC is that it enables you to also search a variety of other Ebsco databases at the same time.

WorldCat is an excellent database to help you find what has been written in your subject area. It is also useful for bibliographic information.

While the item(s) may not be available anywhere here at the Allison Library or on the UBC campus, many items can be requested through InterLibrary Loan.

 

Multi-disciplinary

Academic Search Complete

JSTOR Collection

Oxford Journals Online

Sage Journals Online

 Back to Top
 

Archeology/ Anthropology

Anthropology Plus

AnthroSource

ATLA Religon Database

JSTOR Collection

(See also Subject Resources for Anthropology (UBC Library) for many links in this area.   From this page there is also a link to the “New World Archeology Subject Guide” near the top of the page.)

 Back to Top

 

Arts/ Performing Arts/ Film

ABES Online (Annotated Bibliography for English Studies)

Academic Search Complete

Alternative Press Index

Art Index

FIAF International FilmArchive Database

Film Literature Index (1976-2001)

Film and Television Literature Index

Humanities and Social Sciences Index

Index of Christian Art

International Index to the Performing Arts

JSTOR Collection

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association: 1963-)

The Music Index

Music in Print Series

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Web of Science (look at the links for the guide or the tutorial to help you search effectively)

 Also, look at the Subject Guide , on the UBC Library site, under Arts and Humanities, then either Film or Theatre.

 Back to Top

 

Biblical Studies/Theology

Academic Search Complete

ATLA(S) Religion Database

JSTOR Collecton

Patrologia Graecae

Patrologia Latina

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

WorldCat

 Back to Top

 

Book Reviews

Academic Search Premier

ATLA(S) Religion Database - ATLA is also offered through Allison Library

JSTOR Collection

LexisNexis Academic - reviews from major US and International newspapers

The Medieval Review - reviews of current work in all areas of Medieval Studies

New York Review of Books - searchable index of contents from 1963 to the present; full text of all reviews published since November 1996.

New York Times Book Reviews

[Search for recent reviews online at the NYTBR website by title of the book. Under the heading Book Search, enter the title of the book to find reviews back to 1996. Free registration is required.]

 Back to Top

 

Counseling and / or Family Studies

Academic Search Complete

Ageline

ATLA(S) Religion Database

Canadian Periodical Index

CBCA  Education

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology

ERIC

ERIC International (Australia and Britain)

Family and Marriage in Medieval Europe Bibliography

Family and Society Studies Worldwide

Humanities and Social Sciences Index

Humanities International Index

JSTOR Collection

PsycARTICLES

PsycBooks

PsycCRITIQUES

PsycINFO

Social Work Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts

Web of Science

Also, look at the Subject Guide, on the UBC Library site, under Family Studies for further indexes and resources that may be useful.

 Back to Top

 

Christian Thought

Academic Search Complete

Arts and Humanities Citation Index

ATLA(S) Religion Database

Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion

Humanities International Index

JSTOR Collection

Oxford Scholarship Online

Philosopher’s Index

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (online through UBC and print in Allison)

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

 Back to Top

 

Gender and/or Women

Academic Search Complete

ATLA Religion Database

Canadian Periodical Index

Contemporary Women’s Issues

Defining Gender, 1450 - 1910

Humanities and Social Sciences Index

JSTOR Collection

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts

Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000

Women’s Studies International

 Back to Top

 

Historical Studies/ Church History

Academic Search Complete

ATLA Religion Database

America: History and Life

Bibliography of Scotland

Early Canadiana Online

Early Encounters in North America

Empire Online

ESTC (English Short Title Catalog)

Historical Abstracts (also offered via Ebsco databases)

Humanities Index

International Medieval Bibliography Online

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

JSTOR Collection

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (online book)

Oxford Scholarship Online (History component begins Sept/07)

Scripta Sinica full text database for the study of pre-modern China

Victorian Database Online

Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000

Women’s Studies International

 Back to Top

 

Leadership

Academic Search Complete

ATLA(S) Religion Database

Business Source Premier

Emerald

JSTOR Collection

Oxford Scholarship Online

Regional Business News (Connect to the EBSCO databases and choose Regional Business News from the list.)

 Also, look at the Subject Guide, on the UBC Library site, under Commerce and Business Administration, then Business Subject Guides, then International Business, or Organizational Behaviour and HR.

 Back to Top

 

Literature

Academic Search Complete

American Humanities Index

AustLit: The Resource for Australian Literature

Contemporary Literary Criticism--Select

Early English Books Online

Early English Prose Fiction

Eighteenth Century Collection Online

English Verse Drama

Humanities Index

Iter: gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (free online journal)

JSTOR Collection

Literature Criticism Online

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)

Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature

Oxford Scholarship Oline (Classics available from Sept/07)

Past Masters cohesive collections of editions, in both original language and in English translation, of seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences

Victorian Database Online

World Shakespeare Bibliography

 Also, look at the Subject Guide, on the UBC Library site, under Arts and Humanities, then English.

 Back to Top

 

Missions

Academic Search Complete

American Humanities Index

ATLA(S) Religion Database

JSTOR Collection

World Development Indicators Online

 Back to Top

 

Philosophy and Ethics

Philosopher’s Index

Academic Search Complete

ATLA

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric

JSTOR Collection

Oxford Scholarship Online

 Back to Top